NOarchitects, No Cry: A Berlin Tale

“Life,” said Alvy Singer, “is divided into the horrible and the miserable.” I never really got that. Until, that is, these past twelve months . . .

My lovely mum started to go downhill around this time last year, and I spent the last four months of her life caring for her, while Netanya Social Services faffed around with grading questionnaires. “Can you put your socks on by yourself, Norma,” visiting social workers, each more gormless than the next, would repeatedly ask her as she smiled back sweetly. A light had gone out. The memory still pains. And the Filipino arrived much, much too late.

I have been unsettled ever since. I feel I need a change. New surroundings. A fresh challenge. Rural Ireland was on the cards. But I just wasn’t sure. And London feels a backward step.

Everything seemed to start to be coming back together, however, on a trip to Berlin at the beginning of last month. While looking for an investment property, I was shown an unrenovated loft in a converted salt warehouse in a very cool part of Prenzlauer Berg. And I just fell in love with it. So much, in fact, that I decided, there and then, that I would move in. I know, I know, “Berlin?!” But it does have a wonderful spirit these days.

A price was agreed with the co-vendor/developer, an Ulrich Caspar, and, before leaving the city, I met, on his recommendation, two 30-something architects: American Adam Odgers and his German partner Deborah Nickles, trading as NOa.berlin (previously, when I met them, as NOarchitects). It was a very positive meeting, and instinctively – I was now on a roll (I even pinpointed in which corner I was going to start writing properly again) – I informed them that I would be delighted to work with them once the contract for the loft had been finalised.

I promised Caspar that I could, and would, act quickly – a notary appointment was actually set for 2 o’clock today, a mere three weeks after I left Berlin – and also made it crystal clear to him, at a third meeting that I requested on the afternoon before my flight, just how important the purchase was for me at this time.

And I have wasted no time since returning to Israel: I put my Tel Aviv home up for sale – I have already found a buyer – and, in preparation for signing, arranged power of attorney for my German lawyer through the Tel Aviv District Court, and converted and transferred large sums to an escrow account in Berlin.

Just eight days ago, last Wednesday, NOa.berlin supplied two potential mortgage providers with a cost estimate for the renovation. “Due to sign next Thursday!” I excitedly e-mailed Adam Odgers from my phone.

Three days ago, however, only three days before the notary appointment, I received a chilling e-mail from the real estate agent:

“I am sorry, but I have the worst news possible. The owner of the loft called me this morning and said the architect of the house is going to buy the small loft. I am angry beyond believe and don’t know what to say. I let you swallow this before we communicate further.”

I presumed that Birgit was referring to the architect of the building. But no. On calling NOa.berlin – who describe themselves, on their website, as “Client-oriented” –  just to rule them out, Deborah Nickles informed me, as cold as a German cucumber, that she and Odgers were purchasing the loft. “We have only just received an answer from the bank,” she explained, as if expecting me to understand. I told Nickles, though calmly, that what she was doing was not only morally wrong, but professionally unethical, and that she shouldn’t do it. She couldn’t confirm anything, she said, without first talking to her partner, and she promised that he would call me back.

I immediately phoned Caspar, a 59-year old film producer (when he isn’t playing with people’s lives), with whom I had really hit it off in Berlin (even discussing the screen potential of Hasmo Legends, about which, to my pleasant surprise, he seemed most enthusiastic). “These things happen,” he told me, as if it had nothing to do with him. It seems that he and his Ararat Film und Grund GmbH partner were more interested in receiving ‘free’ (or, at least, cheaper) architectural services for their next project – the adjacent building – than honouring any agreement with me, or appointments with notaries. I had just been some kind of convenient fallback plan.  Combinot, it would appear, are not an exclusively Israeli phenomenon.

I e-mailed Odgers and Nickles, warning them against this path, that it was wrong, that it would do their fledgling business and careers no favours. But they chose to hide. And Odgers didn’t pick up when I called him that evening. Instead, in the early hours of Tuesday morning, I received an e-mail from Caspar’s partner – a clearly delightful fellow called Friedhart Steinich, 58, whom I hadn’t had the pleasure of meeting in Berlin, but who, from a quick Google, appears to have a namesake who has been accused of beating up his tenants – as follows:

“speak with me about your problem. Not with Adam or something. And listen me: Never we make a deal together. Why? You cry too much. Your letter is for me a joke. Sometimes get childs not all, what they want. Berlin have much flats to sell. Good luck! Try it again. Not amused”

The German way of saying sorry, I imagine. I considered lecturing Steinich on the legal principle of good faith. For a second.

I am not going to waste any further melchett mike inches on any of these characters. They – and, in the case of Odgers and Nickles, the relevant professional bodies in Germany – will be hearing from my lawyers. But, if you have stumbled across this blog in performing due diligence on NOa.berlin, Adam Odgers and/or Deborah Nickles, be warned: before instruction, make sure that any property is already safely in your name.

As for Berlin, you might think this tale bashert, the Abishter’s way of telling me what my conscience hadn’t. It will certainly make me think twice, next time, before uttering “Only in Israel . . .”

[Update, 17.12.14: It seems I am not the only one to have been burnt by these unconscionable cowboys – see Carlo’s comment here, and following.]

74 responses to “NOarchitects, No Cry: A Berlin Tale

  1. After the dust has settled, your story is no worse than the feeding frenzy and gazumping stories when foreigners and locals buy properties in key parts of London. I know you feel hurt by it since you came to expect some professional ethics. Two examples: 1) A friend of mine has had to hire a buying agent to buy a property in London just to get his foot in the door. 2) An estate agent who undervalues properties on probate just to pass these deals to business “friends”. I would save your money and walk away. A court case is not going to teach the Germans manners. And they are no worse than UK people in a similar position.

    As to moving on, your idea of looking for a new challenge does present lots of exciting opportunities. I would keep going with that mindset. I’ve been reading about the beautiful countryside that will shortly become more accessible in the Galil. There’s a new railway being built from Haifa to Beit Shean. Your dogs would love the open countryside and you could easily get back to Tel Aviv when you need it. So what about a new peaceful home there? A fresh start without all the upheaval of moving to a new city.

  2. getting gazumped by a competing purchaser is unpleasant enough…but by the architects?!, who knew nothing of the place until you showed it to them. Unprofessional, unethical and callous. In many ways, you’re actually lucky not to be doing business with them as they could have screwed you in different ways afterwards. Best of luck with other initiatives.

  3. They did know about the place, Moshe. They had worked on other lofts in the building. But no one at any stage said they were interested in purchasing it. They just all let me carry on with my plans. Talk about lack of good faith!

    I am not suggesting that Germans are worse than anyone else, Jonathan. I just fell on the wrong ones.

    As for the Galil, it depresses me. Though everything is a disappointment after the Highlands!

    Looking forward to seder with the Kendal-Goldblatts . . . 😉

  4. Perhaps with all the turmoil of the last year, this story is simply telling you that enough change has gone on in your life for the time being. Don’t be in such a rush to start afresh. Take comfort in the familiar now – you’ll know when the time is right to make bigger plans 😉

    On the flip side to that…. BERLIN??? What were you thinking!!!

  5. It’s weird that I get your Berlin post the day I move to Tel Aviv. Maybe the Big Boss wants you to stay and continue your mission here . . .

  6. This might be a stupid question, but, didn’t you have a contract with them before you sold your Tel Aviv home?

  7. Simon Spiro

    What utter bastards. I’m so sorry to hear of this crap in your life, but things will come good and the place that you ultimately settle in, will be good for you. Take care, Simon

  8. Josh Porath

    Having read the e-mail from that third german, I just had to…

  9. What a truly dreadful experience Mike. I would feel exactly the same about this as you. We went through something comparable when we purchased our place in southern Spain. For example, at one point, a few weeks after we’d moved into our new home our British estate agent (he was a Welshman called Michael Scam – yes I know!) attempted to sell us a small vineyard we had our eyes on abutting our land. Fortunately a local got to hear about this and explained that it was already our property, thus saving us thousands of pounds. It turned out that the surveyor’s drawings of the land we had been provided with were corrupted. In other words, as several of the commenters above have already pointed out, there are crooks and rogues everywhere.

    And, talking of our part of Spain, maybe you should give it a try. The landscape is similar to the Galil but far more spectacular and with infinitely more space. The locals are mostly peasants and barely know what a Jew is – for the first years we were there many of our neighbours decided that as I wasn’t a Roman Catholic I must be a Muslim! – so as long as I avoid Spanish TV (which is dire in any event) and university campuses, my Jewishness and Israel are never an issue. The climate is very much like that of the Golan with long dry hot summers and exhilarating winters (snow and all). The diet is very healthy and tasty and the wines are excellent (I should know as I make some of it). Also, we have wonderful towns and cities on our doorstep. We even have a superb annual Jazz festival just along the coast from us – we saw Avishai Cohen there two years ago.

    Seriously though, apart from the Scottish highlands and islands you won’t find anywhere in Western Europe more remote feeling – the main difference being that property prices in our part of Spain are at rock bottom right now. You could purchase a small hacienda for the same price as a crofter’s cottage at the moment. And if all that were not enough, then there are the señoritas…

    Just a thought

  10. I have only agreed to sell, AliG – it is with the lawyers – but will keep my word. And thank you, Simon, for your kind words.

    So funny that you should post that, Josh – the Nihilists are exactly who I thought of when I read that e-mail!! “At least it’s an ethos . . .”

    And don’t ever forget: “Sometimes get childs not all . . .” 😉

    As for España, Adam, I dunno. I’ve never really fancied it myself. The language alone is enough to drive one to distraction . . .

  11. I don’t know Mike…depends who’s speaking – or singing it…

  12. Oh, I do like a bit of Penélope! I am sure I saw her get ’em out in one of her earlier films, but this is a family blog . . . 😉

  13. Bullfrog Brown

    Wow .. ‘A client’s appointed architect snatches the client’s opportunity’. That’s below the gutter ! It appears from their amateur website that NOarchitects started in December 2012. They have a lot to learn ! Their success will depend on their reputation.

    ‘Revenge is a dish best served cold’, which Israelis & Jews don’t need to be reminded. In today’s technological world, NOarchitect’s greed in their infancy may only serve to hamper their reputation & growth.

  14. Mike, my condolences and sympathies.

    But… you’re a lawyer. Were you off sick the day they taught “leave your personal ethics at the door” in law school 101? As l lawyer dabbling in real estate, it can’t have passed you bu that every second sale of an apartment needing renovation here seems to be “to a lawyer, for him/his mum to live in”, and every second freshly renovated apartment seems to be sold at large mark-up “by a lawyer/his mum, who didn’t fancy living there in the end” – after having traumatized and scammed the neighbors with a shoddy, building-damaging, but beautiful-looking major renovation!

  15. Simon Levine

    Mike – I cant believe the blatant conflict of interest that the architects breached here. Their behaviour Is unprofessional and unethical. I would be interested to see what their professional institute thinks when you complain

  16. Mike,
    You should thank G-d for pulling you back from the abyss in the nick of time.

  17. Bullfrog Brown

    As Adrian says, ‘maybe a blessing in disguise’.

    You may have been ‘robbed’ in the short term, but perhaps Hashem was looking down on you, and in the long term, perhaps the thieves did you a favour.

    Mind you, renting a place in the first instance in Berlin, for say 6 months is the best way forward.

  18. In fact, you would probably find it preferable to rent/buy a place in HaRav Berlin.

  19. And here I thought you were keeping quiet, studying to be a tour guide, all this time. So sorry to hear about your mother. Also really saddened to hear of the medical system’s less than stellar home-care. Worse, disappointed to know that your aliyah experience became so challenging that your only solution was to flee. In spite of Netanyahu’s charm-appearance in “Israel: The Royal Tour”, seems like the residents behind its touristic glow aren’t faring so well–lest they’re in the 1% who are. Keep us posted, we care.

  20. Family Blog?? Whose family?

  21. Philip Witriol

    Another lesson: you need to get back to regular blogging.

  22. This is a Purim joke, surely. Berlin?!?

  23. Let me get this clear. You were discussing the filming of Hasmo Legends with a German Film Producer? A barmy story, the entire subtext of which is second generation Holocaust fallout, was to be produced in Berlin. Who did you think he had in mind to play Willy Stanton – Marlene Dietrich? Lunch this week. Urgent.

  24. Seeing as you started . . .

    Willy – Rowan Atkinson
    Taylor – David Niven
    Cyril – Tony Robinson
    Chichios – Anthony Quinn
    Osher – Brian Blessed
    Abie – Sanjeev Bhaskar
    DJ – Steven Berkoff
    Flop – Stephen Fry
    Joughin – Steve McQueen
    Marks – Russell Brand
    Soester – Alan Bates
    Tarrant – Rhys Ifans
    Walters – John Cleese
    Suzanne Stern – Joanna Lumley
    Hackett – Ray Winston

    Any more for any more?!

  25. But none of them (other than, possibly, Sanjeev Bhaskar) is German. Claudia Schiffer might have come in useful. Looking forward to straightening you out at lunch on Wednesday.

  26. David Baddiel playing Osher Baddiel…
    Jim Broadbent as Joe Witriol z’l

  27. “David Baddiel playing Osher Baddiel…” – would be the first time you couldn’t call Osher a “Yid”! 😉

  28. Why the smiley face Mike? It’s true! And I haven’t even the foggiest idea who “Osher” is…

  29. Good choice for my dad – especially after seeing Le Weekend

  30. Old Middle Library

    Danny DeVito – Philip Greenberg
    Laurence Olivier – Simon Lesser/Dr Mengele
    Michael Staniforth – Jonathan Bokor (of course)
    Ian McKellen – Mitch Taylor
    Ewen McGregor – Roger Gothold (sounds implausible, I know, but look: http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/08/14/article-2393891-1B4A51DA000005DC-680_306x423.jpg)

  31. Ian McKellern as Mitch Taylor – truly inspired casting!
    By the way, Mitch had a daughter (still has hopefully), who was friends with my older sister, she was a stunner! (No dandruff and skin scales on her clothes…)

  32. Danny DeVito could sue you for that, Old Middle Library! Larry is spot on, though, for Lesser. And excellent, too, for Roger. I had Staniforth in mind for Johnny B, but couldn’t remember his name or that of Rentaghost . . . shekoyach!

    I would also like to cast Felicity Kendal, rather than Joanna Lumley, as Suzanne Stern . . . don’t know what I could have been thinking.

    This is Osher, Adam: https://melchettmike.wordpress.com/2009/08/18/hasmo-legends-xiii-a-legend-osher-strikes-back/

  33. Wow! What a geezer. I never fully appreciated just why my brother was so miserable at Hasmonean – until now. I didn’t believe that an English school environment – even a religious school environment – could be quite as bleak or as humourless as he used to describe. I always thought he was exaggerating to elicit sympathy. That Osher guy is for real? I mean – really? He reminds me of Amos, ex of Emmerdale Farm, but minus the charm.

  34. Old Middle Library

    It was a bit harsh to compare Simon Lesser to Mengele.

    Sorry, Josef.

  35. Not wishing to deny your brother’s “miser[y]” at Hasmo, Adam, but the place was far from “bleak” or “humourless”. In fact, it was usually a blast, even with tyrants like Osher. I will leave it to Josh Haruni (almost as much of a loss to storytelling as he was to cricket) to give you some idea . . .

    Hasmo Legends II: Yids vs. Yoks – The Religious Mix

  36. In fairness, my brother was miserable at Carmel too and Tichon Daled in Tel Aviv for that matter… I think he just hated school full stop. He’s cheerful now though – mostly.

  37. What’s in a name? A country, or sub-division thereof, that can come up with something as imaginative as “Tichon Dalet” for a school title is a candidate for the setting of the sequel to “1984” or “Brave New World”.

  38. You clearly never attended an establishment that came up with “Hall Left/Right”, the “Mobile Unit”, and “Over the Bridge” . . .

  39. Was it really called the “Old Middle Library”? I assume the person hiding behind that nom de plume is alluding to what was, for most of my school career, referred to as the “Room opposite the staff room”. At the beginning of my sentence it really was the Middle Library.

  40. Dear Mike,

    I will echo Laurel’s sentiments from a fortnight ago…I also was thinking you were mastering the intricacies of tour guiding during your absence from here. Berlin?…wow…Would have never thought about it

    I’ve always dreaded the thought of experiencing something similar to what you endure(d) in Israel, hence my reluctance to ever consider aliyah (or hazara in my case).. And I was also tempted to introduce you to my sister..:) who is now ba haretz but going thru a similar disappointment at Israel, only at the 6 month mark… :S

    As a reader of this blog and, more importantly, a big fan of yours (I almost feel you are a friend when reading your stories here), I wish you all the best in anything you plan to do in life. From reading you here for years I can tell you are a wonderful human being and as such I believe people like you deserve the best in the world.

    All the best,

    YE

  41. A few more thoughts came to me for actors:

    Willy Stanton – William Hartnel (first Doctor Who)
    Mitch Taylor – John Le Mesurier (Sergeant Wilson – Dad’s Army)
    Mr Ellman – Boris Karloff (Dracula – with apologies to Boris Karloff)

  42. Wasn’t Karloff best known as Frankenstein’s Monster – not Dracula who was played by Bella Lugosi – I think. Not sure how this would impact your casting…

  43. Mr Chadwick (maths) – Captain George Mainwaring / Arthur Lowe ?

  44. Adam – I am sure you are right. But it is still Boris Karloff.

  45. In his defence, Adam, he doesn’t own a “colour avoydoh zoroh” (TV) . . .

  46. Adam,
    “In fairness, my brother was miserable at Carmel too…”

    – is your brother by any chance Peter Ian ans was at Carmel in the late fifties-early sisties?

  47. No Adrian, my brother isn’t Peter Ian and was there in the mid – late sixties.

  48. John Fisher

    Adrian – I was intrigued by your gravatar. What made you choose the bland Metropolitan Line 1961 rolling stock which was not a patch on the 1937 frighteningly gothic monstrosity that preceded it nor, for that matter, the current space-age creation that replaced it in 2012?

  49. John, the reason for my choice of gravatar was not the train, but its destination, displayed at the top, viewable only if you enlarge the gravatar. It says “Chesham”.

    This is a small village about an hour from London, to which Jews gravitated – or were evacuated – during WWII because of the heavy bombing of East London (which contained the docks, a military target and many Jews, no need to explain), thus creating a small Jewish community. I spent the 1st 3 years of my life there, and went back to visit it with my wife and son in year 2000, which was when I took the photo.

  50. Adam, the philosopher in me forces me to tell you that had your brother been named Peter Ian, and had he been at Carmel during the late fifties – then I would have known him …

  51. My mother was evacuated to Chesham too as it happens Adrian – among other places.

  52. Adam – what was your mother’s maiden name?

  53. John Fisher

    Adrian – thanks for the interesting explanation. Thanks to you I am now considering changing mine to a photo of a Trolley Bus heading for Finchley.

  54. Adrian – Pizan

  55. John – I was last at Chessington zoo in 1963. At that time they were displaying “London’s Last Tram” (those buses they recently installed in Jerusalem, calling them “the light rail”). Maybe you could photo one of those? [Or see a photo of said tram and an elephant, at: http://www.chessingtonzoo.info/photos.html ]

  56. Adrian – sadly the clock struck midnight, the elephant turned back into a pumpkin, and it is no longer April 1. Best Gravatar I have ever seen.

  57. John, I wasn’t kidding: jump to the link I supplied and scroll down, look for “Tram Car”.

  58. Hello Mike,

    Well done on looking after your mum z”l. My mum also died on a Friday. Her words for Jewish people who went to work or live in Germany were,

    “There is Jewish blood all over the soil of that country!”

    If possible, get a place in Jerusalem’s Old City instead.

    Chaim Aruchim

    Dovid

    Ps Once your lawyers are done sorting out the crouts. Make sure they exit to the dam busters theme tune, loudly.

  59. I think you meant krauts … crouts are either something you put in soup, or a foot-disease. Come to think of it, not much different from krauts.

  60. And you mean crouton … en-croute describes something cooked in pastry, such as Beef Wellington – Crout (singular/proper-noun) is an algebraic term named for the guy who came up with “matrix decomposition” – and anyhow Dov, if you’re going to eliminate all places based upon the relative carpeting of Jewish blood you’ll be consigning all of us to Japan – or the Moon or just about anywhere not on this planet…

  61. You realise that that includes Israel?

  62. Last time I looked Adrian the soil of Israel (to paraphrase Dovid’s mother) was pretty well sprinkled with our blood – and it wasn’t me who set this criteria by the way. I live in Spain for Yoshki’s sake!

  63. Adam, that was exactly my point.

    BTW, any of those Inquisition guys still around?

    I bet you can’t see in Spain “The Pit and the Pendulum” … 🙂

  64. My apologies Adrian – I thought you were asking me…

    The Inquisition actually still exists in its modern “respectable” form – and based in Rome, not Madrid, known today by its exquisitely euphemistic title of the “Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith”. It’s most famous recent prefect was none other than one former Hitler Youth called Joseph Ratzinger …

    As for “El pozo y el péndulo”, it’s actually quite popular there and the classic Hollywood film version is shown on TV from time to time – albeit with subtitles. Although, I have to admit, it’s not half as popular as another Hollywood blockbuster made in the same year (1961) – and also by Jews (but don’t let the Spanish know) – called El Cid. It’s shown every Yoshki-mass and Easter without fail and unlike El pozo y el péndulo not with subtitles, but dubbed.

  65. Hello Mike:

    Here’s one more suggestion.

    Regis Mencer – Tom Cruise

    The plot is that I courageously save the class from a really foul smelling pair of swimming trunks.

    Hope all is well with you.

  66. Reeegissss!! What a lovely surprise!

    Rings a bell, but the memory fails . . . were the offending trunks mine? Or the origins of the “Mouldy” sobriquet?!

    And I think you may be more Sanjeev Bhaskar than Tom Cruise . . . 😉

    Still in CA?

  67. Dear Mike, My wife and I were just LOL reading Steinich’s Email and your description of Caspar. Caspar’s daughter actually knows the NO(-GO)Architects as they worked in the same practice together. Such a low moral hazard I would have not even imagined from a character like Steinich but we received one of his Emails only Monday. Nicely insulting but he started off irrespectfully only shortly after we started negotiations. No idea what their scheme is but it is neither pleasant nor recommendable – all somewhat opaque. Location was Kopenhagener Strasse 31C. Email me for details.

  68. Hi Carlo,

    Thank you for your comment.

    How did you come across my blog? And what is your connection to these cowboys? Were you also interested in an apartment at Kopenhagener Straße? (Yes, it was 31c.)

    Feel free to post Steinich’s e-mail to you here (I will Google translate) . . . his mails are just so entertaining!

    Mike

  69. Hey Mike, yes we were interested and also had an appointment at the notary already lined up, but in our case we stepped back – mostly due to Mr. Steinich seeming so opake. So here goes his Email:

    “A wise decision ! Good for you, the hitherto harmonious community of owners and not last but not least for me. You were very exhausting. Good luck with another project ! All the best!”

    On another account, Mr. Caspar is in a way correct in what he commented regarding the Real Estate Wild West if it was not for his personal connections to the No-Goes. Those No-Goes you maybe were jumping too fast to a conclusion they may be planning the adjacent building. Looking at their website, rather not the case as Caspar and Steinich have their, quite commercially oriented, architects already.

    For what is written about Steinich in the newspaper – well, there is also some quite weird folks out here in Berlin as tenants having camped out in appartments for decades not paying a penny. But I can picture the guy as described.

    At any rate, if we hear of anything interesting, happy to let you know! Happy festivities and all the best for the New Year!

  70. Wow! Makes me think that I had a lucky escape. What a swine that Steinich! Were you looking at a unit in the ‘old’ wing or the new?

    Even if my speculation as to their deal was wrong, it was entirely unethical and reprehensible of the “No-Goes” to purchase an apartment in relation to which they were being professionally instructed. As for Steinich and his lapdog Caspar, I don’t believe “ethics” has ever entered their vocabulary!

    Feel free to forward my blog – again, how did you find it? – to anyone who has (or is likely to) come into contact with any of these clowns. I wouldn’t wish for anyone else to get burnt.

    Fröhliche Weihnachten!

  71. Danke! I googled Mr. Steinich and came accross your blog as well as all the other articles you mentioned.

    I do believe you got away lucky as we just wired a good 2k – it does remain the buyers obligation – for the notary which we had to cancel due to Mr. Steinichs opaque ways of covering his personal interests in the “Teilungserklärung” regarding “Sondernutzungsflächen”. I start to believe there is way more from where that came from and happy to be out! With a blue eye but out! Seasons Greetings, Mike!

    BTW, we got must burnt due to our own inexperience and naivitae. Painful to admit, but true!

  72. I don’t think either of us was naive, Carlo . . . we were just unfortunate to fall upon unconscionable shits.

    And you should reply to Steinich’s e-mail with a link to this blog, stating you believe that it was indeed “a wise decision” judging by what you have read about him online!

    As for your earlier comment, that “maybe [I was] jumping too fast to a conclusion they may be planning the adjacent building . . . Caspar and Steinich have their, quite commercially oriented, architects already”, the NOgoes worked rather on the interiors of apartments in the first building.

  73. look what i found:
    https://www.freundevonfreunden.com/interviews/how-a-former-berlin-salt-factory-and-stasi-lookout-became-an-architects-playground/
    they live there themselves apparently. a happy story aside from the fact that they hijacked the deal from you!

  74. Hi Juan,

    Thank you for your comment. Just out of curiosity, what is your interest in the story? And how did you come across my blog?

    Odgers and Nickles truly sicken me, trying as they do to portray this artsy, ultra-professional image of themselves, when they are really just a pair of talentless hipster shysters. They made such a mess of that great space . . . so a lucky escape for me in that sense, at least!

    The real irony is the ginger prick saying: “you feel some sort of possession over the project you’re doing but ultimately it belongs to someone else . . . you have to get used to detaching yourself.” Shame the cunt didn’t follow his own advice. “We got some good luck in this building,” he continues. How wrong he is.

    You are not the first to link to my blog through the miserable protagonists – see Carlo’s comments above re Caspar and Steinich. I have also had people contact me privately in relation to the four of them, and I’d like to think I’ve prevented others getting burnt.

    Best,

    Mike

Leave a comment